Big Eyed Critters Part 2 and how to pay the host!

Voor Nederlands scroll even naar beneden…

 

My first swap ever on AFA (Atc – for – all) was last year and it was the Big Eyed Critter swap. 
During the schoolyear I didn’t do many swaps.  Way too busy finding the right balance between teaching, beïng a member of the city council, being a full-time mom with two little children and my art..

This year the host does this swap again!
I wanted to join again, but well not all host pay the costs for international swappers out of their own pocket.  That’s normal, postal cost go way up when you send thick envelopes over seas.
I proved to be a challenge to get the payment ready.  I tried to get Forever American stamps on several sites, all told me I couldn’t buy them living in Belgium.
Getting dollars isn’t that easy either.  Certainly because you have to ask on beforehand for dollars and you best take alot because than you just have to pay the exchange costs one time…
I found a swapper in the Netherlands who has hosted a couple of swaps and got dollars which she wanted to send to me.  So that I did, but she was on holiday until a couple of days ago.  The dollars should be on their way right now…
Finally I used paypal to pay the host – sending dollars in the mail still feels a bit awkward to me.  

Oh well my Big eyed critters will leave their country of origin to go to the USA and from their to their new owners…

Mijn eerste ruil die ik ooit deed op AFA (ATC For All) was die van de beestjes met de grote ogen vorig jaar.
Maar toen ging ik terug aan het werk en heb ik niet zoveel ruilen gedaan.  Ik moest balans vinden tussen de kindjes, full-time werken, gemeenteraadslid zijn en mijn kleine kunst projectjes.

Dit deed de gastvrouw de ruil opnieuw.  Ik wilde wel meedoen, maar natuurlijk kan de ontvangster niet alle portkosten voor alle internatiale deelnemers aan de ruil dragen.
Ik ging dus op zoek naar hoe ik dat het best kon doen.
Ik heb geprobeerd om Amerikaanse zegels te kopen, maar dat kreeg ik vanuit België dus niet klaar.
Dollars aanvragen kan, maar je moet het een hele tijd op voorhand doen en dan best veel in één keer bestellen.  Maar wat als ik nu vanaf september de tijd weer niet heb?  Dan zit ik hier met Amerikaanse dollars waar ik niets mee kan.
Ik heb een Nederlandse mevrouw kunnen te pakken krijgen op AFA die zelf al een paar keer een ruil heeft georganiseerd.  Ze had daarvoor Amerikaanse dollars gekregen en die kon ik goedkoop van haar overnemen.
Die zullen ondertussen wel bijna op weg zijn naar hier.

Gelukkig is er zoiets als Paypal – even e-mail adresje ingeven, bedrag ingeven en vooruit met de geit (of ja kaartjes).
Morgen gaan voor de 2de keer mijn Big Eyed Critters (Beestjes met grote ogen) de reis maken naar het verre Amerika!

Geef een reactie

