The non-dominatrix challenge.

Oh my God!

That was my first thought when I read the zentangle  challenge this week!

Creating a zentangle using only my non-dominant hand.  I’m not going to lie: it  was terrible.  My left hand cramped up, my patterns all looked like scribbled lines.
The first try, let’s call him ‘Mister Potato-head’, looks more like a scribbling of a child.  I tried to use things kids in my class always put on their ‘free sketches’.  The sun, flowers, V-shaped birds and trees. 
I must say it was an experience!  When children in my class have hurt their dominant hand in gym-class, I always say: try with your other hand!  I know that isn’t as pretty, but you are busy.  And who knows, maybe you’ll make wonderful ‘modern art’.  I honestly don’t know if I will ever say that again! (lol).
Mister potato-head isn’t really a tangle, more a sketch!  But I wanted to share my first (bad) try so you can all have a good laugh 😉

Ok, time for the second try.  Not in a box drawn on beforehand, just a space in my sketchbook!  I started with a thicker marker and added some thin ones afterwards.
One thing I’m happy about is that I left the box.  For the first time I went out of my shape.  Not because I wanted to, but it was extremely hard to try to keep the drawing inside.  And I failed a few times.  I tried to make some paterns from the lines that went too far. 
This is the result.  I called it non-dominant peacock …

6 thoughts on “The non-dominatrix challenge.

  1. There is something pleasingly child-like about the first drawing that really appeals. You did a great job and the second piece with the colour is just lovely!

    Like

Geef een reactie

